top of page

To Be a Man [Poem]

What’s it like to be a “Man” man

since I ain’t get to choose?

society don’t show me

but I’ll piece together clues

I’m knowing it’s a journey

So I’m lacing up my shoes

to find the truth

so my identity

don’t end up misconstrued


I ponder the demands of a man

& attitude

to always love your neighbor

& always show gratitude

never being shady, even in

the afternoon

& he could be hood at the heart

but still guard his ‘avenues’


a man,

he gon' make sure you straight,

like latitude

& always be persistent

no matter the magnitude

he gon' always keep it 1k

& that’s the truth

but I ain’t lying

if you try him

you’ll see what that damage do


a human, yes he is

but with an inner animal

but all you gotta give him,

somebody compatible,

somebody who won’t forcibly change him

like radicals

but corrects him when he’s wrong

since he isn’t infallible


that’ll make a cold heart

sweet, like danimals

he’ll self-appropriate

in a flash

like camera phones

go lengths for you,

from far out east

to Cameroon

& when it’s smoke in the air

land it safe

like parachutes


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

24.

bottom of page