top of page

The Inspiration: Ace Hood [Poem]


Ace Hood, major salute

to you & Hood Nation,

your growth as both an artist

& a father’s appreciated


you left a big mark

on this Broward-made Haitian

w/information

heeded [way] before

Starvation


when I first heard Bugatti

I thought you copped you a new whip

[you] paved a way

for Broward rappers,

showed anybody could do this

even thought the chances seem slim,

slimmer than toothpicks,

you built a name

& a track with Lil Wayne?

✅ off the To-Do list



Since Ruthless

& Gutta,

I’m knowing you was a cool kid,

& Blood, Sweat & Tears

was quality real n*gga music


with coolness,

the Trials & Tribulations showed

who the truth is,

you snapped

but labels, they gave their backs to you

like Judas


but anyways

you’re still commemorated in other ways,

till this day

hours-worth replays

from quality mixtapes


The Statement & The Statement 2

ain’t listen to em thoroughly

but Body Bag?

put n*ggas tracks

in Body Bags’, literally


I Do It For The Sport

you slid on, so skillfully

& the whole Starvation series

[a] journey in itself,

spiritually


but Starvation 5

in a way opened my eyes,

“Father’s Day”

had shown me

how much pain I left disguised


Keep on Praying

was saying to

keep my head up to the sky,

& sure you’ll get dealt troubles

but don’t ever question why


& then you dropped that song

that gave us insight on your wife

made me think to myself

"Me settling for less?

would be unwise"


not that you could measure up

a woman’s heart by it's size

but she'll reflect you, gracefully

should you be a good guy.


Hood.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

24.

bottom of page