top of page

The Inspiration: J. Cole [Poem]

Updated: Mar 8, 2021

Cole World

Keep ya sweater close...

gotta

grab you up a scarf

and feather cloak

they still question who the truth is

gotta let em know

I’m knowing you been pressure from the jump

like

Derrick Rose


you speak..


a different language

like Rosetta Stone,

if they

didn’t know

by now, they better know

tell em

stick to the script

& the schedule

you join another fleet,

ships sink

like the Treasure Coast


yo

flow hard,

talking metal flow

The Warm Up was so hot

like a kettle hole

Friday Night Lights

We need another episode

...

fasho

it gave a n*gga chills

like an Eskimo


Snow.


Fast-forwarding

to more winners...

to another classic album

in Born Sinner

it’s all facts,

we all sin

‘cause we were born in it

but to get to Heaven

man, we each do

have a hell to go


through.


Forest Hills Drive

another stepping stone

had some bangers,

like

No Role Modelz

& Hello

buddy preaching like

he got multiple testimones

album full of bangers

I would blast it on

a megaphone


4 Your..


Eyez Only,

that was heartfelt

neighbors think you moving weight

like a barbell...

or the cartel,

they called 12

on telephones

and they slid DEEP,

ain’t care bout

how much records [you] sold


Bro,


[that] got my eyes peeled,

I’m hella woke,

got a n*nigga moving low

like a baritone

KOD was monumental

like the Yellowstone

....

talking park &

“Rosa” Parks

without the petals though


So I,


anticipate

another gemstone,

I know you working on an album

but it’s levels though

and as far an opp

I’m

way ahead of those,

let alone

the cops

wrong stop,

[they] let them Beretta’s go


Now a


black man, another vegetable

correctional officers

do not seem

so correctional..

still I rather

die by fie

before I sell my soul

‘cause Pac

told me

for a G

there’s always

still a Heaven though


Cole.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page