top of page

The Marathon Continues [Poem]

A runner in a race,

so I lace

my shoes..

& pacified

at my own pace,

I’m cool..

my destiny, that’s something that

I pick

& choose..

and trust, I won’t

ever stay asleep

or snooze..


recalibrate the way

that I think,

my screws..

were loose, but they tighten

as my mind

canoes..

through calm waters,

so I do not blow

a fuse..

Rough Ryder like DMX

but instead

I cruise..


with a more heightened awareness

steady seek

the truth..

‘cause life’s

full of lies,

you could peep

the news..

or even Instagram

peep the feed,

the views..

& though numbers

do not lie,

they “outside”,

so move..



You ain’t pressed to really flex

when you breed

your loot..

or aim

to post a lil change

to deceive

a fool..

but other times,

a mirror’s

what you’re see

-ing through..

chase that cheese long enough

watch that green

turn ya blue



so stay in tune w/self,

& on your Ps

& Qs..

internalize the good

& use defeat

for clues..

though the crowd

might get loud,

ignore the Eee’s

& ooo’s..

‘cause the marathon continues

even if

you’re bruised.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BLEED

bottom of page