top of page

We ALL Hurt [Poem]

The size of one’s heart

the reason why one’s heart hurts,

try put it into words

or paint pictures like artwork


if I could sing my pain,

I’d put on a concert,

could show a movie too, but

I'd consult my thoughts first


if love were a sport,

consider me a boxer

or if a basketball,

I’d dunk the ball

off vert


if love was food from a stranger,

would you consider the offer?

if it’s addicting like some coke,

but ain’t sweet like Starbursts?


vulnerability,

could lead

a happy heart to heart burn..

sensitivity then fades,

& that right there be hard-earned


we’ll never know TRUE love

‘less we put God first

cause each life’s but a book

but of each one,

He is the author


& understandably, makes this love game

a lil harder,

hard to trust what you can’t see

nonetheless, someone’s daughter


a game of basketball

in which I’m not a starter

so yes, I’m coming off the bench

so my game ain’t altered


REAL love’ll

turn a boy to man

and a man, to father

& helps him open up

in case he won’t budge

or bother


two things that make a man,

dignity & honor

& betrayal ain’t feminine

so we can’t pretend,

that we don’t all hurt

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

24.

bottom of page